The Illinois Club Board Meeting Minutes and Scholarship Awards Saturday, March 6, 2021 ZOOM meeting – 5:00 pm

MEMBERS PRESENT: Linda Lopez, Donna Offenbecher, Jenny Kim, Shiela Krein, Ann Long, Julia Schmidt, Kathleen Weibel, Sandy Camargo, Joyce Wright, Kathy Valdes, Lori Choquette, Ann Campbell

(Not Present - Christina Myers, Alice Taylor, Barbara Schleicher, Jane Myers, Judith Robinson, Christine Lyke, Pat Cardenas, Marcy Joncich, Mary Hodson, Mike Haney)

At 5:00 pm, attendees of the ZOOM meeting were treated to the oboe music of Vincent Chang who is this year's recipient of the Ikenberry Fine Arts Scholarship. The meeting was then officially called to order at 5:05 pm by President Linda Lopez by giving a special welcome to our scholarship award winners. Linda than introduced the chairman of the Nominating Committee, Ann Long who thanked her committee (Carol Bunick, Linda Lopez, Kathy Valdes, Donna Offenbecher and Bob Davis) and then read the slate of officers for

2021-22.	
President	Donna Offenbecher
Past President	Linda Lopez
Vice President	Open
Recording Secretary	Christina Myers
Treasurer	Jenny Kim
Asst. Treasurer	Bob Davis
Corresponding Secretary	Alice Taylor
Budget Chair	Kathy Valdes
Communications Co-Chair	Susan Haney & Christine Lyke
Interest Groups Chair	Ann Long
Asst. Interest Groups Chair	Sally & Steve Zahos
Meeting Managers	Jane Myers & Kristine Chalifoux
Membership Chair	Judith Robinson
Asst. Membership Chair	Kathleen Weibel
Scholarship Chair	Joyce Wright
Asst. Scholarship Chair	Matthew Macomber
Newcomers Chair	Christina Myers

President Lopez noted that the office of Vice President was open and asked for nominations from the floor. Since there were no nominations, Linda requested members to consider volunteering. She also requested members to save the date of May 11, 2021 for the end-of-year Spring Meeting which will be held in person at Riggs Beer Company in Urbana from 5 pm – 8 pm.

The keynote speaker for the day was Dr. Roy Campbell who came to the University of Illinois in 1976 and earned his PhD in Computer Science and taught here until 2019 when he retired. He was thanked for his inspirational speech by Sandy Camargo, Scholarship Committee Chair. She then announced the members of her committee : Joyce Wright (vice chair), Lori Choquette, Anne Heiles, Ann Long, Matt Macomber, Donna Offenbecher, and Kathy Valdes, and thanked them for their work. She also thanked all of the donors to the Scholarship Fund and encouraged continued contributions.

Since the Awards Luncheon could not be held in 2020, Sandy briefly reviewed the results from last year and Linda noted that interviews with the 2020 recipients could be viewed on the TIC website. Sandy then presented the awards for this year at which time each recipient had a chance to speak about their plans and thank The Illinois Club for their financial assistance.

Isabelle Purnell Education Award STEM Awards Humanities/Social Science Award Global Focus Awards Ikenberry Fine Arts Award

Alexis Martinez Jong Hwang, Ishita Rao, Justin Wang Adem Osmani Enddy Almonord, Sophie Luitjen Vincent Chang

Linda Lopez displayed a photo of Judy Ikenberry, whose husband served as University President from 1979-1995 and again in 2010. Judy has always been dedicated to service and created an endowment for the Ikenberry Scholarship and allowed the TIC to sell reproductions of her art to help fund the Scholarship Awards program. She is owed many thanks for over 20 years of , providing scholarships.

Sandy then thanked Kathy Valdes, Jenny Kim, Donna Offenbecher and Linda Lopez for doing such a great job of organizing this special ZOOM meeting under these difficult Covid-19 times.

Linda invited members to join any of the TIC committees and interest groups. The meeting was adjourned at 6:24 pm.

Respectfully Submitted,

Julia Schmidt, Recording Secretary